Cherishable Chores

Just had to pen a beautiful moment from my life as a stay-home Dad. A gift to me from God.
— David Sretenovic

Pacing the room, cradling my 20-month-old son, his head beginning to get heavy on my shoulder. The only thing that changed was that I reached around to embrace him more deeply, along with the melting of my heart. To any outside viewer, I would have been doing exactly the same thing, but for me the two activities were literally worlds apart. One moment I was putting him to sleep – a chore. The next, I was cuddling him for all he’s worth, for all I’m worth, with every atom of my beating heart, aware of the fleeting treasure I held: a beautiful young boy, growing into a man. In a breathtaking moment, my chore was transformed into my privilege and a task which I cherished; instead of seeking the task’s rapid completion, I spontaneously poured myself into the moment and felt it expand to meet my open soul. I have seldom had my day “interrupted” in such a powerful, meaningful way. I see it as a move of the Holy Spirit. It was an interjection of a spiritual force with eternal qualities; a gift of eternal life, entering my temporal life. I see it as God. A blessing!

Author: Universal Connection

Blogging is a meaningful outlet for me. I have so much to express! From my family, to my faith, to my experiences, to my questions ... and back to my family, really! God bless you, and thank you for visiting my site. I truly aim to mediate, communicate, relate, create ... but that starts with being honest. I welcome you to do the same. Peace David

Leave a Reply

