A Christian at a Buddhist Retreat Reading the Qur’an – Part 1: My Inspiration

David Sretenovic took a week off: no food, no obligations, nothing but healing and respite. This is a two-part blog which shares a piece of that inspiring escape.

It struck me at one point this week that I was a Christian, staying at a Buddhist Retreat, reading the Qur’an. I took a week off from my normal life routine to fast and stay in a private room up in the hills of Eudlo, here in South-East Queensland. And I’ve been soul-awakeningly inspired.

This retreat setting is certainly not a Christian place – there are too many statues/idols, and there’s a rule forbidding sexual contact – but it’s so peaceful; I’m reading the Qur’an and it’s plainly not the Bible – Muhammad and his sword are the heroes rather than the sword-denying Christ – but the book definitely echoes what I hear in churches and Christian literature. It’s these commonalities – brilliant gems of beautiful, shared humanity – that make me absolutely certain that we can coexist peacefully!

Oh we will undoubtedly have times when tensions and fights erupt, but it will be part of a peaceful path: the Believers in all religions will all push towards harmony together, and the Believers will carry the day. That’s what I mean.

chenrezig-3

Author: Universal Connection

Blogging is a meaningful outlet for me. I have so much to express! From my family, to my faith, to my experiences, to my questions ... and back to my family, really! God bless you, and thank you for visiting my site. I truly aim to mediate, communicate, relate, create ... but that starts with being honest. I welcome you to do the same. Peace David

Leave a Reply

